Book Series Corpus Christianorum Conciliorum Oecumenicorum Generaliumque Decreta, vol. 6.1

Synods of the Churches of and after the Reformation: The Dawn of the Reformation (16th-17th Centuries)

Alberto Melloni, Gianmarco Braghi (eds)

  • Pages:2 vols, xxiv + 1092 p.
  • Size:155 x 245 mm
  • Illustrations:1 b/w, 1 tables b/w.
  • Language(s):Latin, English
  • Publication Year:2024

  • ISBN: 978-2-503-54506-6
  • Hardback
  • Available


Alberto Melloni is Full Professor of History of Christianity at the University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Secretary and Director of the Foundation for Religious Studies (Fscire) and Chair holder of the UNESCO Chair on Religious Pluralism and Peace at the University of Rome “La Sapienza”. He was also the Chair for the 2021 Italian Presidency of the IF20 by the G20 Interfaith Forum. Since 2020, he has been one of the European Commission’s Chief Scientific Advisors.

Gianmarco Braghi, PhD (Trinity College Dublin), is Assistant Professor of History of Christianity at the University of Palermo and a member of the Foundation for Religious Studies (Fscire), where he acts as Deputy Coordinator of the “Giuseppe Alberigo” European School for Advanced Religious Studies. He is a member of the Board of the Reformation Research Consortium (REFORC) and of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Stitching Calvin’s Reforming Correspondence.


This two-volume set includes the critical editions – in some cases the very first critical editions – of a selection of synods of the Churches of and after the Reformation from 1526 to 1616. This collection of synodal decrees represents different confessional families and covers a wide linguistic and geographical spectrum.


General Introduction (Alberto Melloni)

Concilium Hombergense (1526) (ed. Johannes Schilling)
Concilium Iuliomagense (1527) (ed. Christian Scheidegger)
Disputatio et Decem Theses Bernenses (1528) (ed. Pierrick Hildebrand)
Concilium Augustanum (1530) (ed. Kirsi I. Stjerna)
Concilium Bernense (1532) (ed. Pierrick Hildebrand)
Concilium Campi Foranei (iuxta Hengroniam) (1532) (ed. Gianmarco Braghi)
Synodus Tigurina (1532) (ed. Emidio Campi)
Concilium Argentoratense (1533/1534) (ed. Gianmarco Braghi & Graeme Murdock)
Concilium Genevense (1541) (ed. Gianmarco Braghi & Graeme Murdock)
Concilia Hungarica et Transsylvanica (1545, 1567, 1570) (ed. Zoltán Csepregi)
Concilium Venetianum-Ferrariense (1550) (ed. Davide Dainese)
Concilia Lutetianum et Rupellense (1559/1571) (ed. Irene Dingel)

Concilium Londinense (1563/1571) (ed. Torrance Kirby)
Concilium Antverpianum (1564) (ed. Gianmarco Braghi & Graeme Murdock)
Conventus Vesaliensis et Synodus Embdana (1568–1571) (ed. Henning P. Jürgens)
Concilium Sandomiriense (1570) (ed. Maciej Ptaszyński)
Concilium Saxonicum (1577) (ed. Irene Dingel & Johannes Hund)
Concilium Upsaliense (1593) (ed. Oloph Bexell)
Articuli Lambethani (1595) (ed. Torrance Kirby)
Concilium Tuiscoburgense (1610) (ed. Andreas Mühling)
Concilium Hibernicum (1614/1615) (ed. Torrance Kirby)
Concilium Aberdoniense Ecclesiae Scoticanae (1616) (ed. Ian Hazlett)