Book Series Studies on Italian Music History, vol. 11

Pietro Antonio Locatelli: A Modern Artist in the Baroque Era

Fulvia Morabito, Warwick Lister

  • Pages: xix + 287 p.
  • Size:216 x 280 mm
  • Illustrations:20 b/w, 35 tables b/w.
  • Language(s):English
  • Publication Year:2018

  • ISBN: 978-2-503-58017-3
  • Hardback
  • Available

The book is the first English monograph on Pietro Antonio Locatelli.



Dr Fulvia Morabito is currently President of the Centro Studi Opera Omnia Luigi Boccherini, Lucca. She is an editor of Ad Parnassum Journal (Ut Orpheus Edizioni) and is General Editor of the series Monumenta Musica Europea and Studies on Italian Music History (Brepols Publishers). She is a member of both the scientific committee of the Italian National Edition of Luigi Boccherini's Complete Works and the Advisory Board of the Francesco Geminiani's Opera Omnia.



Pietro Antonio Locatelli (Bergamo 1693 – Amsterdam 1764) was a composer and violin virtuoso. After his period of education in Rome he became an itinerant virtuoso; in 1729 he settled in Amsterdam where he dedicated himself to the publication of his nine Opus numbers — including the masterpiece L’Arte del violino Op. 3. He also pursued concert activity, the trading of books and prints, teaching, and collaborated with the publisher Le Cène. This allowed Locatelli to pursue a life sheltered by the court environment that lay at the heart of the contemporary musical world. As an entrepreneur and an early incarnation of the nineteenth-century virtuoso, however, Locatelli also cuts a strikingly ‘modern’ figure. The study of Locatelli’s life and works opens up a panorama onto the musical world of the late-Baroque period. The in-depth investigation of the reception of Locatelli’s works allows us to understand the artistic legacy of the musician, highlighting its influence on the French and Italian violin traditions: Paganini was among the most significant beneficiaries of the Locatelli tradition. The volume also includes an English translation of the inventory of the effects catalogued following Locatelli’s death — an exegetical instrument of fundamental importance, known thus far only through Dutch and Italian translations. The book also includes an iconographic section, printed in colour.


The Life
Chapter i The Bergamo Years: The Emergence of the Violinist
Chapter ii The Roman Years: The Emergence of the Composer
Chapter iii The Years of Wandering: The Success of the Virtuoso
Chapter iv The Dutch Years: Artistic Maturity
Chapter v The Silent Years: Outside the Compositional Path
Chapter vi Epilogue
The Works
Chapter vii The Concerti Grossi: Observance and Abandonment of the Tradition
Chapter viii The Solo Concertos of L’Arte del Violino: The Masterpiece
Chapter ix The Introduzioni teatrali, Op. 4: A Sui Generis Case
Chapter x The Solo Sonatas: «Qui la novità delle idee, la sublimità de’ concetti, la naturalezza del canto»
Chapter xi Trio Sonatas: A Brief Incursion into ‘Consumer Music’
Chapter xii The Reception of Locatelli’s Works
To Conclude
Appendix 1 Catalogue of Works
Appendix 2 Authorized Catalogues: Transcriptions
Index of Names